Wearing 2 hats at once

I have been a Library Technician for longer than I care to admit.  As a Library Tech, I have had the occasion to meet a couple of authors and be in the position of deciding if I order their books for my libraries or not.  Some authors didn’t even have business cards, and no bookmarks or anything like that to give me a record of the information I would need to order their book(s), and I was not favourably impressed. 

A couple of weeks ago, our head Librarian invited me to present “Don’t come here, Julie!” to my Library Tech colleagues, and I gladly accepted.  However, I now realize that the shoe is on the other foot.  I am now the author, selling my books to Libraries. 

The last two weeks have been rough, and I didn’t see the time going by.  My presentation is tomorrow, and I still need to print up some more business cards. As well, I have nothing to give them to remind them to include Julie in their big order.  My apologies to the authors that I thought were disorganised.  Here’s hoping that Bureau en Gros (Staples) can print up some bookmarks for me for tonight.  Oops!

I will be reading an exerpt from the book, and will attempt to record the reading on my digital camera.  If the memory card holds out, and it turns out to be the right format, I’ll post it on facebook and youtube.  You’ll laugh at my Southern accent.

About P. Joy Webster

Author of "Don't come here, Julie!" Auteure de « Ne viens pas ici, Julie!» School Library Technician and ESL teacher Technicienne en documentation scolaire et professeure d'anglais langue seconde.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

