A New Year – new horizons

I am writing the sequel to “Don’t come here, Julie!”  My goal is to have the rough draft done by April 30, 2011.   As my deadline looms before me, I’m feeling overwhelmed by trying to get back in the speed of everyday life, let alone make progress on my book and TV series.  I find myself thinking, “Such and such will never happen,  I don’t know what I’m doing, I’ll never be able to write a script that will sell”, all that kind of nonsense that we tell ourselves when we’re sleep deprived and have taken on too much.   

I keep reminding myself that life will go on even if I have a stack of laundry to do, and that progress is progress, even if it’s just one page instead of the 5 pages that I was hoping to write in an afternoon.  I may not know what I’m doing for the script, but my friend and mentor, Andréanne gave me some reading to do, and I can learn and get to the point where I know what I’m doing.

I am convinced that if I learn to spend time with God, live up to my responsibilities in my libraries and ESL classes and take care of my friends, everything else will prove to be superfluous. 

My New Year’s resolution for 2011 is “no negative thoughts allowed”.  2011 can and will be as amazing as 2010.  We are allowed to have good luck for a while and not have to “pay” for it afterward with bad luck.  I’m welcoming the New Year with open arms, and expecting great things from it.  What are you expecting from the New Year?

About P. Joy Webster

Author of "Don't come here, Julie!" Auteure de « Ne viens pas ici, Julie!» School Library Technician and ESL teacher Technicienne en documentation scolaire et professeure d'anglais langue seconde.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

